Welcome Message

Welcome Message
CambodiaWatch-Australia would like to welcome you for visiting our blog. Please feel free to browse through the site and contribute any opinions.
We can be contacted via camwatchoz@gmail.com.

Thursday, 1 December 2011

Tale of the Indochinese Communitst Party and its sister parties

PHNOM PENH, Nov 30 (Cambodia Herald) - Top political leaders from Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam will gather in Snuol in Kratie province on Friday to commemorate the 33rd anniversary of the founding of the United Front for the National Salvation of Kampuchea in 1978, the United Front for the Development of the Cambodian Motherland announced.

The announcement said that Heng Samrin, honorary president of the Cambodian People's Party (CPP) who is also chairman of the national council of the United Front, were meeting in Phnom Penh Wednesday with Vietnam Fatherland Front chairman Huynh Dam and Lao Front for National Construction chairman Phanhdoungchet Vongsa.

Dam is also a member of the Politburo of the Communist Party of Vietnam and Phanhdoungchet is a member of the Central Committee of the Lao People's Revolutionary Party.

The announcement said the meeting in Phnom Penh Wednesday, chaired by Heng Samrin, also president of the National Assembly, was to promote peace, friendship, and cooperation along the borders of the three countries. A memorandum of understanding was scheduled to signed by the three leaders.

During separate meetings with the Lao and Vietnamese leaders Wednesday, Prime Minister Hun Sen, who is CPP vice president, called for focussing on the development of the triangle area between the three countries.

Heng Samrin founded the United Front for the National Reconstruction and Defense of Kampuchea in Snuol on December 2, 1978, five weeks before Phnom Penh was liberated from the genocidal Pol Pot regime on January 7, 1979. He served as founding chairman of the front's central committee while
Chea Sim, the current CPP president, was its deputy chairman and Ros Samay was secretary general.

Other members of the front's 14-member central committee were Mat Ly, Bun Mi, Hun Sen, Mean Soman, Meas Samang, Neou Samon, Ven. Long Sim, Hem Samin, Chey Kanha, Chan Ven and Prach Sun.

At the Fourth Congress of the Khmer People’s Revolutionary Party in May, 1981, the front changed its name to the United Front for the National Reconstruction and Defense of Kampuchea. In December the same year, Heng Samrin became secretary general of the party and honorary chairman of the renamed front.

In April 2006, the United Front once again changed its name, this time to the United Front for the Development of the Cambodian Motherland. Heng Samrin was subsequently named president of the front’s national council.

No comments:

Post a Comment